[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Committee membership

Here is my attempt to polish up what Dick wrote.  The only real
substantive difference is in the technical liaison business, plus the
tentative addition of Griss to the list (in addition to Bawden).  I've
also tried to state more precisely how this all relates to ANSI and ISO,
as I understand this.

Let me know what you think.  I'd like for us to send this out as soon as
we've got a version we all agree on, preferably before March 15.

Commentary for internal consumption is in square brackets.

At the December Common Lisp meeting Scott Fahlman, Dick Gabriel, Bob
Mathis, Dave Moon, Steve Squires, Guy Steele, and Dan Weinreb were
charged with the duty of selecting a technical committee and a steering
committee to develop ANSI and ISO standards for Common Lisp.  This
message is to report on the membership of those committees, to describe
the actions we have taken towards making those committees official, and
to outline the next steps we need to take.

We have decided not to create the committee under DARPA sponsorship, but
rather to operate within the ANSI framework, setting up a committee for
Common Lisp under X3 tentatively known as X3J13.

The membership in X3J13 will be self-selecting: ANSI committees are open
to anyone who pays the dues ($150/year) and who participates actively in
the committee's work.  These organizations move very slowly: X3J13
cannot begin operating until next fall at the earliest.  Once the X3J13
committee is function, the technical and steering committees will report
to X3J13.  In the meantime, we expect to make considerable progress
toward producing an acceptable standard.

ANSI committees are permitted to have members from other countries.  We
have not asked anyone outside the U. S. to join either committee as yet,
but we intend to invite some members from outside the U. S. as a way of
getting the benefit of international experience and cooperation.

There are two committees that we propose to establish now: the steering
committee and the technical committee.  The steering committee is
charged with guiding the results of the technical committee through the
standarization process, particularly at the ISO level.  The technical
committee is to refine the language definition and produce a document
specifying the proposed Common Lisp standard.

The American members of the steering committee are:

Robert Mathis, Private Consultant 
Steve Squires, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
Ronald Ohlander, USC Information Sciences Institute
John McCarthy, Stanford University 
Guy L. Steele Jr., Thinking Machines, Inc.
Richard P. Gabriel, Lucid, Inc.

The American members of the technical committee were chosen according to
several criteria:

(1) The member must have a deep knowledge of Lisp, with experience both
in the implementation and design of at least one serious Lisp

(2) The member must be a well-recognized, prominent individual.  He or she
must be someone whose reputation is recognized internationally.

(3) The group, considered as a whole, must reflect the wide variety of
viewpoints and backgrounds that are present in the Common Lisp

(4) The committee must not be so large that it is unable to reach
decisions with reasonable speed.

(5) The members are chosen as individuals with a commitment to the
success of Common Lisp as a widely used standard, and not as
representatives of their respective companies or organizations.

Obviously, if the committee is to be of reasonable size, it is not
possible for every company and implementation group to be represented on
the technical committee.  Our intention is to discuss each issue as it
arises on the Common Lisp mailing list and to invite any interested
individuals to observe and participte in this discussion.  The technical
committee will be responsible for making final decisions on what will go
into the proposed Common Lisp document, but no final decisions will be
made without ample opportunity for input from the whole community.  Some
disagreement is probably inevitable, but there will be no surprises.

While the opinion of each individual will be considered, companies may
wish to appoint an official spokesperson who is authorized to speak for
the company in technical matters.  We will attempt to arrange for
netmail access for one person from any serious implementation group that
does not currently enjoy such access.

The American members of the technical committee are:

[ Assuming we want to go with both Griss and Bawden...has Bawden agreed
to serve if asked, or was he on the fence? ]

Alan Bawden, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel Bobrow, Xerox Corporation
Scott E. Fahlman, Carnegie-Mellon University
Richard P. Gabriel, Lucid, Inc.
Martin L. Griss, Hewlett-Packard, Inc.
David A. Moon, Symbolics, Inc.
Jonathan Rees, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Guy L. Steele Jr., Thinking Machines, Inc.

At this point a document has been submitted to the Standards Planning and
Requirements Committee of X3, known as SPARC, proposing the formation of
the X3J13 committee.  SPARC is the committee which must approve the
formation of any new technical committees. The document outlines the need
for such a committee, the scope of the standard, the potential members of
the committee, and the plan and schedule for accomplishing the standard.

We hope that the standarization work informally started in the Lisp community
will continue to fruition at the international level.

				Scott E. Fahlman
				Richard P. Gabriel
				Robert Mathis
				David A. Moon
				Guy L. Steele Jr.
				Steve Squires
				Daniel L. Weinreb

[ Have we got full, formal names for Mathis and Squires? ]